European Elections 2019

The Elections for the European Parliament will be held on 23 May 2019.

Voters will choose 73 MEPs in 12 multi-member regional constituencies. Each region has a different number of MEPs based on its population.

10 MEPs will be elected to represent our area - the South East. MEPs are elected by proportional representation, in order as listed by their party.

Unlike in winner-takes-all general elections, the voting system is proportional. Parties select a list of candidates for each region, and voters just choose a party. Independents are treated as parties with a single candidate.

When the votes are counted, the party with the most votes takes the first seat. To allocate the second and subsequent seats, the original vote totals are divided by the number of seats parties have gained, plus one. In effect, this means a party’s vote count is halved after winning its first seat, and reduced by two-thirds after its second, and so on. This approach is known as the D’Hondt method (after the 19th-century Belgian polymath who invented it, Victor d’Hondt).

Your Conservative candidates are:

Daniel Hannan - current MEP & member of European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Nirj Deva - current MEP & member of European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Richard Robinson 

Mike Whiting 

Juliette Ash 

Anna Firth 

Adrian Pepper 

Clarence Mitchell 

Neva Sadikoglu-Novaky 

Caroline Newton

Info from BBC at